Sunday, June 11, 2006

ancient counties of Wales

Guidance Document for Metadata and Imaging *** Controlled Vocabularies **
County Names list

The following county names should be used:

Sir Frycheiniog Breconshire
Sir Gaerfyrddin Carmarthenshire
Sir Gaernarfon Caernarfonshire
Sir Aberteifi Cardiganshire
Sir Ddinbych Denbighshire
Sir y Fflint Flintshire
Sir Faesyfed Radnorshire
Sir Feirionnydd Merionethshire
Sir Fôn Anglesey
Sir Forgannwg Glamorgan
Sir Fynwy Monmouthshire
Sir Benfro Pembrokeshire
Sir Drefaldwyn Montgomeryshire

Culturenet Cymru, The National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth, Ceredigion, SY23 3BU UKTel: 01970 632 500 Fax: 01970 632 509

Aberteifi Cardiganshire
Brycheiniog Breconshire {welsh is a case language !!! sir (county / shire) modifies the following noun }
Caerfyrddin Carmarthenshire
Caernarfon Caernarfonshire
Dinbych Denbighshire
Fflint Flintshire
Maesyfed Radnorshire
Meirionnydd Merionethshire
Môn Anglesey
Morgannwg Glamorgan
Mynwy Monmouthshire
Penfro Pembrokeshire
Trefaldwyn Montgomeryshire

The pre/post 1974 and 1996 positions can be viewed as map/diagrams on Gareth's Help Page

Cardiff (County Borough) - see Glamorgan
Clwyd - see Denbighshire, Flintshire
Dyfed - see Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire
Gwent - see Breconshire, Monmouthshire
Gwynedd - see Anglesey, Caernarvonshire, Merionethshire
Merthyr Tydfil (County Borough) - see Glamorgan
Mid Glamorgan - see Breconshire, Glamorgan, Monmouthshire
Newport (County Borough) - see Monmouthshire
Powys - see Breconshire, Montgomeryshire, Radnorshire
South Glamorgan - see Glamorgan, Monmouthshire
Swansea (County Borough) - see Glamorgan
West Glamorgan - see Glamorgan

======= === ===
historically IGI is confused about Wales
(eg "Monmouth England" which is a legal jurisdiction not geographical or civil)
and should be ignored in favour of the National Library of Wales own choice of spelling


Post a Comment

<< Home