Tuesday, August 07, 2007

USGenWeb Project

Jackson County, Indiana: "Jackson County on map

Jackson County was the 14th county to be organized in Indiana Territory. It was formed from Washington and Jefferson counties, and named after General Andrew Jackson, the 7th President of the United States. Fort Vallonia was the first county seat, but it was moved to Brownstown that same year. Brownstown remains the county seat today. Jackson County is divided into 12 Townships; Brownstown, Carr, Driftwood, Grassy Fork, Hamilton, Jackson, Owen, Pershing, Redding, Salt Creek, Vernon and Washington. It covers an area of 509 square miles. In 2000, the population was 41,335.

Surrounding counties are; Bartholomew, Brown, Jennings, Lawrence, Monroe, Scott and Washington."

and a related blog Jackson County Site on Blogspot

INGenWeb - Indiana Genealogy Online -- Free Genealogy and Family History Online - The USGenWeb Project: "We are a group of volunteers working together to provide free genealogy websites for genealogical research in every county and every state of the United States. This Project is non-commercial and fully committed to free genealogy access for everyone.

Organization is by county and state, and this website provides you with links to all the state genealogy websites which, in turn, provide gateways to the counties. The USGenWeb Project also sponsors important Special Projects at the national level and this website provides an entry point to all of those pages, as well"

lots more USGenWeb Project - Google Search


Post a Comment

<< Home